Author of the Day

  • Author of the Day

    The Author of the Day programme brings some of the most acclaimed, successful and exciting writers working today to the world’s creative capital, showcasing their work and celebrating their achievements. First introduced in 2006, Author of the Day is now established as a major Fair highlight.

    We were thrilled to welcome two of the UK’s bestselling female writers - Joanna Trollope OBE and Dame Jacqueline Wilson OBE, as Tuesday and Thursday Author of the Day, respectively, who were spotlighted at the 2018 Fair. Joanna featured as General Trade Author of the Day on 10th April, and Jacqueline Wilson appeared as Children’s Author of the Day on 12th April.

    In celebration of the 2018 Market Focus Baltic Countries, three internationally celebrated writers - Kristina Sabaliauskaitė (Lithuania), Nora Ikstena (Latvia) and Mihkel Mutt (Estonia) - were honoured on the second day of LBF (11th April 2018), with a special dedicated programme that shone a spotlight on their outstanding career achievements and work.

  • Mihkel Mutt

    Representing Estonia, Mihkel Mutt is a renowned, provocative writer and columnist. Originally a theatre and literary critic he made his debut as a writer in the 70s, and has now published over 40 titles across a variety of genres. In recent years he has focused his attention on reporting history and current affairs and his work is typically personified by his biting irony and hyperbolic wit.

    Nora Ikstena

    One of the most influential and prominent prose writers and essayists in Latvia, Nora Ikstena is known for her elaborate style and detailed approach to language. Her work often reflects on life, love, death and faith, and she has written 30 literary works, including her most recent novel Soviet Milk, which was shortlisted for an Annual Literature Award for best prose and will come out in the UK by Peirene Press.

    Kristina Sabaliauskaitė

    Writer and art historian Kristina Sabaliauskaitė is the most widely read contemporary Lithuanian author. Born in Vilnius and based in London since 2002, her four-part historic novel series, Silva Rerum, is a long-term number-one international bestseller and widely regarded as among the most important Lithuanian literary works of the last decade.

  • Joanna Trollope

    Joanna Trollope is the author of twenty highly acclaimed and bestselling novels, including The Rector’s Wife, Marrying the Mistress and Daughters in Law. She was appointed OBE in 1996, a trustee of the National Literacy Trust in 2012, and a trustee of the Royal Literary Fund in 2016. She has chaired the Whitbread and Orange Awards, as well as being a judge of many other literature prizes including chairing the BBC National Short Story Awards for 2017.

    Jacqueline Wilson

    Jacqueline has been on countless shortlists and has won many awards, including the Smarties Prize, and the Children’s Book Award. As well as receiving an OBE in 2002 for Services to Literacy in Schools, Jacqueline was awarded a DBE in 2008. Over 40 million copies of Jacqueline Wilson’s books have now been sold in the UK alone and they have been translated into 34 different languages. She is one of the UK’s best-selling authors of the past decade.

We use cookies to operate this website and to improve its usability. Full details of what cookies are, why we use them and how you can manage them can be found by reading our Privacy & Cookies page. Please note that by using this site you are consenting to the use of cookies.